Serving the Fullerton Community Since 1922

The Hornet

The Hornet

Serving the Fullerton Community Since 1922

The Hornet

Democrats face off with the nation watching

The Democratic hopefuls for the 2020 presidential election will face off again for the third time, Thursday Sept. 12.

The third Democratic debate will be broadcasted on ABC News and Univision. The one night only debate will begin at 5 p.m. PST. Viewers can also stream it from the ABC app,, as well as Apple TV and Amazon Fire TV. The Democrats will take the stage inside Texas Southern University’s Health & PE Center in Houston.

The debates have previously been split between two nights when more than 10 qualified. New qualifications for this debate had just 10 candidates satisfy the requirements by the Aug. 28 deadline.

To make it on the stage the Democrats had to meet both a polling and fundraising minimum by the deadline. The first qualification was to have received at least 2 percent support in four different polls that were ran between June 28 and Aug. 28.

The second qualifier listed that each candidate must have had at least 130,000 unique donations to their campaign. Additionally, the donations must have included 20 states with 400 different donors each.

Qualified lineup.jpg
The 10 presidential hopefuls that qualified for the third Democratic debate. The Sept. 12 live debate will be broadcasted on ABC News and Univision. Photo credit: ABC News

The Democrats below made the cut:

Vice President Joe Biden

New Jersey Sen. Cory Booker

South Bend Mayor Pete Buttigieg

Former Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Julián Castro

California Sen. Kamala Harris

Minnesota Sen. Amy Klobuchar

Former Texas House Rep. Beto O’Rourke

Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders is a senator

Massachusetts Sen. Elizabeth Warren

Entrepreneur Andrew Yang

Prior to the questioning each person on the podium will have the opportunity to give an opening statement. During the debate the candidates will be given one minute and 15 seconds to answer direct questions. Rebuttals and other responses will have a 45 second time limit.

Moderators for the night will be ABC News chief anchor George Stephanopoulos, World News Tonight anchor David Muir, ABC News correspondent Linsey Davis and Univision anchor Jorge Ramos.

As the 2020 primary elections draw closer, the number of debates will increase while the number of presidential hopefuls will slowly decrease.