Serving the Fullerton Community Since 1922

The Hornet

The Hornet

Serving the Fullerton Community Since 1922

The Hornet

New student government elected

Jose Solano will be the next president of Fullerton College’s Associated Students. Last week’s election resulted in a landslide victory for Solano, winning by more than 150 votes over Dana Rose Crystal-Grijalva.

New Associated Student President Jose Solano.

“I am excited, but I realize that it’s going to be a lot of work, so before this semester is done, i’m trying to get a lot of advice from the current president,” Solano said.

Solano has said that his top priority for next year will be trying to include more students in the A.S. He also hopes to find more funding for the A.S. to increase its capabilities.

“A.S. basically supports the student events, but the more resources we have, the more we will be able to do,” he said. “Not just events, but actually be able to give back to the students.

Joining Solano leading the A.S. government are Sean Douglas as vice president and Thomas DeLoera as the new treasurer. DeLoera defeated David Burnette for the position, while Douglas ran unopposed.

In the race for student trustee, Stephen Tith won by 16 votes against Ricardo Muniz and Crystal-Grijalva.

Tith credits his opponents for getting him ready for office.

“I saw [Muniz] working very hard, talking to people, getting them involved,” Tith said. “That honestly pushed me. it really humbled me, to try harder to reach these folks.”

For president of the Inter Club Council, Daphne Ruiz ran unopposed.

All three A.S. senators who ran garnered enough votes to secure their position in the student government. Sally Jung Hyun Kim, Angela Aguilera and Kevin Espinoza had more than 40 votes each.

A fourth senator ran a successful write-in campaign, getting more than the 10 votes needed to be elected. Jiselle “Ellie” Neel will be joining the student government pending an check of her eligibility to run for office.

During the three-day election, a total of 301 ballots were cast by Fullerton College students. Final confirmation of the results are pending approval by the current A.S. Senate.

All elected A.S. officials will serve for the 2014-15 school year.


Leave a Comment

Comments (0)

All The Hornet Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *